Phi Beta Kappa Induction Ceremony 2022

Document Type


Publication Date


Sponsoring Department(s)

Phi Beta Kappa


The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the United States' oldest and most prestigious academic honor society. Founded on December 5, 1776, at the College of William and Mary, the Society celebrates academic excellence and sponsors activities that promote education in the liberal arts and sciences. Each year, only about one college senior in a hundred is invited to join. Notable members of Phi Beta Kappa include 17 U.S. presidents, 42 Supreme Court Justices, and more than 150 Nobel Laureates.

Phi Beta Kappa currently has 290 chapters at leading colleges and universities nationwide. The College of Saint Benedict and Saint John's University Theta of Minnesota Chapter was granted a charter in 2010. Each year, chapters select and invite exemplary students to become lifelong members of Phi Beta Kappa. Students can regard an invitation as both a well-deserved recognition of their intellectual curiosity, hard work, and wide-ranging academic pursuits as well as a prestigious honor that will set them apart to future graduate programs or employers. The national Phi Beta Kappa office further explains."

Streaming Media