Document Type


Publication Date



Sixty-eight students from the College of Saint Benedict and Saint John's University have been invited into the Theta of Minnesota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at CSB and SJU.

The students will be formally inducted into the chapter during a ceremony at 5 p.m. Wednesday, April 22, in Alumnae Hall, Haehn Campus Center, CSB. The public is welcome to attend the induction ceremony, which will be followed by an invitation-only dinner for the Phi Beta Kappa members and guests.

Louis Johnston, associate professor of economics at CSB and SJU, delivered the keynote address, "The Liberal Arts and the Wealth of Nations." CSB President Mary Dana Hinton will be inducted as an honorary member of Phi Beta Kappa.

A total of 56 seniors and 12 juniors were selected by faculty members at CSB and SJU who are members of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest academic honor society, which was founded in 1776. There are 43 students from CSB and 25 students from SJU in this year's group.

The basic criteria for selection are a grade-point average (3.75 for juniors, 3.65 for seniors) and a liberal arts major. The selection committee also looked at the breadth and depth of the student's program and other achievements, such as a thesis or other research.

This is the sixth group of students who have been inducted into the chapter. Delegates from more than 200 chapters and associations of Phi Beta Kappa voted to establish the chapter at CSB and SJU on October 2, 2009, during their Triennial Council in Austin, Texas.

The CSB and SJU chapter was the eighth Phi Beta Kappa chapter established in Minnesota and was named 'Theta' after the eighth letter of the Greek alphabet.

Streaming Media