Literary Arts Institute Lectures

Carolyn Forché: Public Reading & Conversation


Carolyn Forché

Document Type


Publication Date


Sponsoring Department(s)

Literary Arts Institute


Renowned as a “poet of witness,” Forché is the author of five books of poetry. Forché's first volume, Gathering the Tribes, winner of the Yale Series of Younger Poets Prize, was followed by The Country Between Us, The Angel of History, and Blue Hour. Her most recent poetry collection is In the Lateness of the World, which was an American Book Award winner and Pulitzer Prize finalist.

She is also the author of the memoir What You Have Heard is True, a devastating, lyrical and visionary memoir about a young woman’s brave choice to engage with horror in order to help others, which was nominated for the 2019 National Book Awards.

She has translated Mahmoud Darwish, Claribel Alegria and Robert Desnos. Her famed international anthology, Against Forgetting, has been praised by Nelson Mandela as “itself a blow against tyranny, against prejudice, against injustice,” and is followed by the 2014 anthology The Poetry of Witness.

In 1998 in Stockholm, she received the Edita and Ira Morris Hiroshima Foundation for Peace and Culture Award for her human rights advocacy and the preservation of memory and culture.