The Compass: Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon

Volume 85 | Issue 4 Article 4

3-10-2014

Sigma Gamma Epsilon 2012-2013 W. A. Tarr Awards

Paula Even University of Northern Iowa, even@sigmagammaepsilon.com

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.csbsju.edu/compass



Part of the Earth Sciences Commons

Recommended Citation

Even, Paula (2013) "Sigma Gamma Epsilon 2012-2013 W. A. Tarr Awards," The Compass: Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon: Vol. 85: Iss. 4, Article 4.

DOI: https://doi.org/10.62879/c25447390

Available at: https://digitalcommons.csbsju.edu/compass/vol85/iss4/4

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Journals at DigitalCommons@CSB/SJU. It has been accepted for inclusion in The Compass: Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon by an authorized editor of DigitalCommons@CSB/SJU. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@csbsju.edu.

Sigma Gamma Epsilon 2012-2013 W. A. Tarr Awards

Paula Even

Dept. of Earth Sciences University of Northern Iowa Cedar Falls, IA 50614 USA even@sigmagammaepsilon.com

ABSTRACT

The W. A. Tarr Award was first established in March 1949, to recognize outstanding students in the Earth Sciences. Qualifying criteria for the award are provided as well as a list of individuals who received this award for the 2012-2013 academic year.

INTRODUCTION

The W. A. Tarr Award was first announced in March 1949, to recognize outstanding students in the earth sciences. Any active Sigma Gamma Epsilon member in the earth sciences at a school in which an active chapter is located is eligible to receive the award. For a chapter to be considered active for the Tarr Award, they need to have paid dues during the current academic year. Each active chapter may award one Tarr Award annually.

W. A. Tarr was the Grand Editor of *The Compass* from May 1920 when the first issue was printed until the time of his death in 1939. It was largely through his efforts that *The Compass* became a success.

Recipients receive a certificate and a \$50 award.

AWARD CRITERIA

1. Any student in the Earth Sciences and an **active member** of the Society of Sigma Gamma Epsilon at a school in which an active chapter of the Society is located is eligible to receive the Award. An

- active chapter is one that submits annually the New Initiates form, Returning Members form, and Chapter Officers form along with appropriate fees and dues by November 15th.
- 2. The recipient of the Award must be majoring as an undergraduate or be a graduate student in some phase of the Earth Sciences, (e.g., Geology, Metallurgy, Mining, Petroleum or Geological Engineering, Ceramics, Geophysics, Hydrology, Oceanography, Environmental Sciences).
- 3. Scholarship is the essential basis of the Award, but personality, leadership, contribution to the school, and ability to get along with people are worthy of consideration.
- 4. The Award preferably should be granted to a graduating senior or graduate student. (It is not contemplated that the Award will

be made more than once to the same person).

- 5. Completion of one or more courses such as field work subsequent to the date of normal graduation may not cause an individual to be ineligible.
- 6. The selection of the student to receive the Award shall be made by a committee consisting of members of the *Active Chapter* and *three faculty members*—two of whom shall be members of the Society. The Faculty Advisor, in conjunction with the chapter, shall set up the method of selecting the Award Committee.
- 7. The Award will consist of a suitably printed certificate, signed by the National President of the Society and by the Faculty Advisor of the respective chapter.
- 8. Nomination is due April 1st and is to be submitted by the Chapter Advisor.

2013 RECIPIENTS

Thirty-two individuals qualified for the 2013 W. A. Tarr Award:

Logan Byes, Alpha, University of Kansas

Andrew R. Krump, Eta, Missouri University of Science & Technology

Daniel Gurganus, Alpha Alpha, University of North Carolina

Jacqueline Engel, Alpha Lambda, University of Texas at El Paso

Kyle Thomas Ashley, Alpha Mu, Virginia Tech

Evan Thaler, Alpha Psi, University of Arkansas

Brittany Renner, Beta Zeta, University of North Dakota

Karen Vyverberg, Beta Psi, University of Florida

Samantha Yost, Gamma Zeta, Kent State University

Alison Schell, Gamma Sigma, University of Northern Iowa

Jeremy Henley, Gamma Omicron, University of New Orleans

Joseph Reedy, Gamma Pi, Chadron State College

Kristina P. Pourtabib, Gamma Chi, Eastern Illinois University

Jordan Korte, Delta Beta, Auburn University

Deborah J. Kraft, Delta Theta, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Luciana de la Rocha, Delta Xi, Trinity University

Timothy Papan, Delta Psi, Western Illinois University

Adam Dettmer, Epsilon Beta, Ohio University

Michael G. Blair, Epsilon Gamma, Indiana University – Purdue University Fort Wayne

Shelby Willeby, Epsilon Zeta, Midwestern State University

Jennifer LeeAnn All, Epsilon Eta, Radford University

Kristina M. Watts, Epsilon Theta, Northwest Missouri State University

Peter Razumov, Epsilon Rho, Georgia State University

Brittney Oleniacz, Zeta Epsilon, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania

Danielle Cavender, Eta Alpha, University of Tennessee, Martin

Sara Yearsley, Eta Gamma, Weber State University

Chadrick Gardner, Eta Epsilon, Southern Utah University

Collin Littlefield, Eta Lambda, Susquehanna University

Meghan M. Moss, Eta Nu, James Madison University

Sam Lagor, Eta Xi, St. Lawrence University

Nicholas J. Hogancamp, Eta Rho, SUNY Geneseo

Clare Dreher, Eta Tau, University of Dayton