The Compass: Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon

Volume 88 | Issue 2

Article 1

11-17-2016

Sigma Gamma Epsilon 2016 W.A. Tarr Awards

Paula Even University of Northern Iowa, even@sigmagammaepsilon.com

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.csbsju.edu/compass

Part of the Earth Sciences Commons

Recommended Citation

Even, Paula (2016) "Sigma Gamma Epsilon 2016 W.A. Tarr Awards," *The Compass: Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon*: Vol. 88: Iss. 2, Article 1. DOI: https://doi.org/10.62879/c59080180 Available at: https://digitalcommons.csbsju.edu/compass/vol88/iss2/1

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Journals at DigitalCommons@CSB/SJU. It has been accepted for inclusion in The Compass: Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon by an authorized editor of DigitalCommons@CSB/SJU. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@csbsju.edu.

Sigma Gamma Epsilon 2016 W. A. Tarr Awards

Paula Even Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences University of Northern Iowa Cedar Falls, IA 50614 USA <u>even@sigmagammaepsilon.com</u>

ABSTRACT

The W. A. Tarr Award was established in March of 1949, to distinguish exceptional students in the Earth sciences. Thirty-one individuals received the Tarr Award during the 2015-2016 academic year. A brief history of the W.A. Tarr Award and the qualifying criteria for the award are provided.

INTRODUCTION

First established in March 1949, the W. A. Tarr Award was created to distinguish outstanding students in the Earth Sciences. It was mostly through the efforts of W. A. Tarr that *The Compass* became a success. He served as the Grand Editor of *The Compass* from May 1920 when the first issue was printed until the time of his death in 1939.

An active chapter of Sigma Gamma Epsilon may select one Tarr Award recipient annually. For a chapter to be considered active for the Tarr Award, they need to have paid dues during the current academic year. Any active Sigma Gamma Epsilon member in the Earth sciences at a school with an active chapter is eligible to receive the award. The awardee receives a certificate and \$50 award.

AWARD CRITERIA

- Any student in the Earth Sciences and an active member of the Society of Sigma Gamma Epsilon at a school with an active chapter of the Society is eligible to receive the Award. An active chapter is one which submits annually the New Initiates form, Returning Members form, and Chapter Officers form along with appropriate fees and dues by November 15th.
- 2. The recipient of the Award must be majoring as an undergraduate or be a graduate student in some phase of the Earth Sciences, (e.g., Geology, Metallurgy, Mining, Petroleum or Geological Engineering, Ceramics, Geophysics, Hydrology, Oceanography, Environmental Sciences).
- 3. Scholarship is the essential basis of the Award, but personality, leadership, contribution to the school, and ability to get along with people are worthy of consideration.

- 4. The Award preferably should be granted to a graduating senior or graduate student. (It is not contemplated that the Award will be made more than once to the same person).
- 5. Completion of one or more courses such as field work subsequent to the date of normal graduation may not cause an individual to be ineligible.
- 6. The selection of the student to receive the Award shall be made by a committee consisting of members of the *Active Chapter* and *three faculty members*--two of whom shall be members of the Society. The Faculty Advisor, in conjunction with the chapter, shall set up the method of selecting the Award Committee.

2016 RECIPIENTS

Below are listed the thirty-one students qualified for the 2016 W. A. Tarr Award:

Ellen Reat, Rho, Indiana University Mackenzie Lee Scharenberg, Sigma, The Ohio State University Renée Z. Wang, Omega, University of Southern California Aleah Walsh, Alpha Alpha, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Lisa Whalen, Alpha Mu, Virginia Tech Adam Forkner, Alpha Chi, University of Alabama Cheyenne S. Everhart, Beta Psi, University of Florida Shannon Hunter, Gamma Zeta, Kent State University Terra Perez, Gamma Sigma, University of Northern Iowa Daniel Curtis, Gamma Chi, Eastern Illinois University Kara L. Mjølhus, Gamma Upsilon, West Texas A & M University John Whitmore, Delta Beta, Auburn University Casimir S. Willis, Delta Theta, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Hadley Swartz, Delta Xi, Trinity University Lukas R. Smith, Delta Psi, Western Illinois University Daniel J. Maassel, Epsilon Gamma, Indiana Univ. - Purdue Univ. Fort Wayne Kari Bickhard, Epsilon Zeta, Midwestern State University Marissa Arcuri, Epsilon Theta, Northwest Missouri State University Alexandra Simpson, Epsilon Rho, Georgia State University Kamille A. Winslow, Epsilon Psi, University of Miami Dilyn Stevenson, Zeta Epsilon, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania Lisa Van Kirk, Zeta Nu, Colorado Mesa University William Allen Brewer, Zeta Omicron, Millsaps College Amelia S. Coalter, Eta Alpha, University of Tennessee at Martin Stephanie A. Mitts, Eta Gamma, Weber State University Jeffry C. E. Yon, Eta Epsilon, Southern Utah University

Michelle Barakat, Eta Lambda, Susquehanna University Elle G. Derwent, Eta Nu, James Madison University Paisley Dandenault, Theta Alpha, Adrian College Melissa Luna, Theta Zeta, Central Connecticut State University Darryl Alan Mott, Theta Kappa, University of North Carolina - Wilmington