# The Compass: Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon

Volume 86 | Issue 4 Article 3

2-27-2015

## Sigma Gamma Epsilon 2014 W.A. Tarr Awards

Paula Even University of Northern Iowa, even@sigmagammaepsilon.com

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.csbsju.edu/compass



Part of the Earth Sciences Commons

## **Recommended Citation**

Even, Paula (2014) "Sigma Gamma Epsilon 2014 W.A. Tarr Awards," The Compass: Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon: Vol. 86: Iss. 4, Article 3.

DOI: https://doi.org/10.62879/c76320066

Available at: https://digitalcommons.csbsju.edu/compass/vol86/iss4/3

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Journals at DigitalCommons@CSB/SJU. It has been accepted for inclusion in The Compass: Earth Science Journal of Sigma Gamma Epsilon by an authorized editor of DigitalCommons@CSB/SJU. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@csbsju.edu.

## SIGMA GAMMA EPSILON 2014 W.A. TARR AWARDS

#### Paula Even

Dept. of Earth Sciences University of Northern Iowa Cedar Falls, IA 50614 USA

even@sigmagammaepsilon.com

## **ABSTRACT**

First established in March 1949, the W. A. Tarr Award was created to distinguish outstanding students in the Earth Sciences. A list of the individuals who received this award for the 2013-2014 academic year as well as the qualifying criteria for the award are provided.

## INTRODUCTION

The W. A. Tarr Award was established in March of 1949, to distinguish exceptional students in the earth sciences. W. A. Tarr was the Grand Editor of *The Compass* from May 1920, when the first issue was printed until the time of his death in 1939. It was mostly through his efforts that *The Compass* became a success.

Active chapters of Sigma Gamma Epsilon may award one Tarr Award annually. For a chapter to be considered active for the Tarr Award, they need to have paid dues during the current academic year. Any active Sigma Gamma Epsilon member in the earth sciences at a school in which an active chapter is located is eligible to receive the award which consists of a certificate and \$50 award.

### **AWARD CRITERIA**

1. Any student in the Earth Sciences and an active member of the Society of Sigma Gamma Epsilon at a school in which an active chapter of the Society is located is eligible to receive the Award. An active chapter is one which submits annually the New Initiates form, Returning Members

form, and Chapter Officers form along with appropriate fees and dues by November 15<sup>th</sup>. 2. The recipient of the Award must be majoring as an undergraduate or be a graduate student in some phase of the Earth Geology, Sciences. (e.g., Metallurgy, Petroleum Geological Mining, or Engineering, Ceramics. Geophysics, Hydrology, Oceanography, Environmental Sciences).

- 3. Scholarship is the essential basis of the Award, but personality, leadership, contribution to the school, and ability to get along with people are worthy of consideration.
- 4. The Award preferably should be granted to a graduating senior or graduate student. (It is not contemplated that the Award will be made more than once to the same person).
- 5. Completion of one or more courses such as field work subsequent to the date of normal graduation may not cause an individual to be ineligible.
- 6. The selection of the student to receive the Award shall be made by a committee consisting of members of the *Active Chapter* and *three faculty members*--two of whom

shall be members of the Society. The Faculty Advisor, in conjunction with the

chapter, shall set up the method of selecting the Award Committee.

## **2014 RECIPIENTS**

Thirty-one individuals qualified for the 2014 W. A. Tarr Award:

Jacquelynn Miller, Alpha, University of Kansas

Crystal Wespestad, Rho, Indiana University

Brittany Van Wagenen, Sigma, The Ohio State University

Lindsay Arvin, Omega, University of Southern California

Daniel Portner, Alpha Alpha, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Katalina Salas, Alpha Lambda, University of Texas at El Paso

Noel Leigh Turner, Alpha Mu, Virginia Tech

Tanner Howitz, Alpha Chi, University of Alabama

Lanie Nicole Meridth, Beta Psi, University of Florida

Kevin Engle, Gamma Zeta, Kent State University

Karen Marchal, Gamma Omicron, University of New Orleans

John Chesley, Gamma Sigma, University of Northern Iowa

Devin Clark, Gamma Chi, Eastern Illinois University

Elise K. Wilbourn, Delta Theta, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Lauren K. Mercado, Delta Xi, Trinity University

Daniel Hermanns, Epsilon Beta, Ohio University

Sadye Howald, Epsilon Gamma, Indiana Univ.-Purdue Univ. Fort Wayne

Raychel Fristoe, Epsilon Zeta, Midwestern State University

Kelsey Lauren McGee, Epsilon Eta, Radford University

Billy Hodge, Epsilon Theta, Northwest Missouri State

Rebecca Pickering, Epsilon Rho, Georgia State University

Kristin Fritz, Zeta Epsilon, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania

Brandt M. Gibson, Eta Alpha, University of Tennessee at Martin

Kari N. Godfrey, Eta Gamma, Weber State University

Genevieve Kidman, Eta Epsilon, Southern Utah University

Brian Zuidervliet, Eta Lambda, Susquehanna University

Timothy Kroop, Eta Nu, James Madison University

Bryn W. Keenhold, Eta Xi, St. Lawrence University

Richard A. Frieman, Eta Rho, State University of New York at Geneseo

Christina Marie Colburn, Eta Upsilon, University of the Pacific

Amanda DeLisle, Theta Zeta, Central Connecticut State University